This little gem was constructed by the Michigan Power Company in 1907 after a 1904 flood. The Michigan Power Company enjoyed a very brief period where they served power to the City of Lansing as a private entity as opposed to a franchise. It was short lived because they entered receivership in 1918 and were acquired by the Lansing Board of Water & Light who feared an electrical shortage at the time.
The building itself is in great condition despite being flooded (again and again) but no longer produces electricity. Currently the Lansing Board of Water & Light is restoring the electrical generation components for historical reasons only.