Recently, AIA Michigan announced the 2008 Honor Awards. The recognition dinner was held on May 2nd, so this announcement is a little late.

Awards are given in five distinct categories: Building Awards, Interior Awards, Sustainable Design Awards, Steel Award, and the Twenty Five Year Award. Other recognitions were awarded to various firms and individuals. Congratulations to all the award winners!

Read more to see who won the awards or view the invitation [ via AIA Michigan ].

Building Awards

Lamar Construction Company Corporate Headquarters
Hudsonville, MI
Architect: Integrated Architecture

Science Addition and Allied Health Expansion – Glen Oaks Community College
Centerville, MI
Architect: DSA Architects

Indian Springs Metropark James Clarkson Environmental Discovery Center
Springfield Township, MI
Architect: SmithGroup

St. Joseph’s Recovery Center
New Orleans, LA
Architect: Detroit Collaborative Design Center / Wayne Troyer Architect

Private Residence
Bloomfield Township, MI
Architect: Constantine George Pappas

Warren Civic Center
Warren, MI
Architect: Neumann/Smith Architecture

Interior Awards

St. Gertrude Catholic Church Interior Renovation
St. Clair Shores, MI
Architect: Constantine George Papppas

West Michigan Center for Arts & Technology
Grand Rapids, MI
Architect: Progressive AE

Sustainable Design Awards

Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center
Lawrenceville, GA
Architect: Lord Aeck & Sargent Architecture

Low Budget / Small Project Award

MUD/MUP Student Lounge A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture & Urban Planning
Ann Arbor, MI
Architect: Neil Robinson, Architect

Steel Award

Devos Place
Grand Rapids, MI
Architect: Progressive AE

Twenty Five Year Award

Veterans Memorial Building
Detroit, MI
Architect: Harley Ellis Devereaux

Matilda Wilson Aviary Wing Detroit Zoological Society
Royal Oak, MI
Architect: Luckenbach/Ziegelman Architects


Firm of the Year Award
Hamilton Anderson Associates

Gold Medal
Gary L. Skog, AIA

Robert Hastings Award
Kevin D. Shultis, FAIA

President’s Award
Joseph C. Veryser, AIA

Young Architect
Kristen A. G. Schleick, AIA

Intern Development Program Firm of the Year
JPRA Architects

Honorary Affiliate Members
Katherine Banicki
John Banicki
Gary R. Steffy

College of Fellows
Charles F. Merz, FAIA

Board Members of the Year
Victor A. Saroki,FAIA
Michael R. Strother, AIA

Legislator of the Year
Senator Jason Allen

Share This